Porter County Soil & Water Conservation District

our district

2021 Board of Supervisors & Associates

From Left to Right;Brad Hunter, Greg Birky, Brent Jarnecke, Nate Ruge, Keith Gustafson, Dean Morrow, Jim Kreiger

Board of Supervisors

As a sub-division of state government the Porter County Soil & Water Conservation District is governed by a board of five supervisors. Three supervisors are elected to the board and two are appointed. Elections take place at an annual meeting, generally convened in March.

As residents of Porter County they assure that the projects and activities with which the District is involved address the concerns and needs of local citizens. The Porter County SWCD Board has elected to serve without compensation, so that funds can be dedicated to projects which benefit Porter County.

The current board of supervisors consists of Brad Hunter, Chairman; Keith Gustafson, Vice-Chairman, Greg Birky, Fiscal Officer, Dean Morrow, Member, and Nate Ruge, Member.

Population : 168,404

Total Area (ac) : 267,560

Agricultural (ac) : 122,523 (46%)

Annual Reports

2020 annual report final.pdf
67th Annual Report - 2019 - Final Version.pdf
66th Annual Report - 2018 - Final Print 3-25-2019.pdf

business plan

The Porter County SWCD develops a strategic plan every 5 years to set new goals.

Business Plan 2017.pdf

district story map